Dinosaur Messenger Bag – A Bag For A Boy

image

I always feel a little guilty when I present Little Boo with a new top or dress to wear (not that she takes the blind bit of notice, she would wear a sack happily) and when I was sewing gifts (like the horse drawstring bag and bike basket) for her second birthday, Big Boo did ask “when are you going to sew something for me mummy?”. I felt the guilt creep into me and decided to put the imbalance right.  This is what I came up with, and it has actually been more of a hit than I thought it would be – well anything with dinosaurs will get a smile from him so I new I had a good start.  This bag has actually been carted full of toys on two trips away already, and I have plans for this bag once we get the weather for regular park trips…

image

I actually made this up a few weeks ago, but have only just got around to posting it after reading about this bag on ticklespink earlier today. Big Boo was actually happy to pose for a photo shoot (don’t let the grumpy face fool you, and don’t you just love the unbrushed 70’s hair!).  I think he is starting to enjoy seeing himself in photos – egotistical little boy! The pattern came from merriment design and was super easy to follow with clear photos.  I might make one for Little Boo with horses on…..(sh don’t tell her brother).

4 thoughts on “Dinosaur Messenger Bag – A Bag For A Boy

  1. That’s gorgeous – I always struggle to think of things that I can make for boys (possibly because I have 3 girls) but that’s perfect – will have to check out that tutorial. Love the 70’s hair 😀

  2. Boys are so much harder! I think it’s Made By Rae that has Celebrate the Boy and I always appreciate posts that have things for little boys. (I don’t even have a little boy, but Millie does and he hardly ever gets anything made by mommy.) The bag is super cute, but not as cute as the face your son is making in the second photo. 🙂

    • Thanks Meg, yes Made By Rae has some great tutorials. Luckily my son is a typical boy and couldn’t care less what he wears so he doesn’t get too jealous of the pretty girl dresses. As for the face – a teen in training I would say….

I'd love to hear your comments...

