A Spring Top for Me

image

Something sewn for myself? Wow! That doesn’t happen very often.  To be honest I get more of a kick out of making something for someone else, particularly children because things always look good on them.  But when I spotted the spring top sew along over at Made By Rae I decided this was my opportunity to make something in an adult size, and here it is.

image

My elephant top (hope I don’t look like an elephant in it!). You might recognise the material from my wide mouth pouch post. I know it’s rather a young (!) fabric, but I wanted a fun top to throw on with jeans, and this works really well with my red converse, which link up with the red binding.

image

I took inspiration from a top I already owned and created my own pattern by tracing around it. It has French seams and big bright red zip which really stands out against the navy.  The original was made out of lighter material, and I my version looks a bit more boxy, but I think it works ok.  I need to find a UK seller with a good range of silky or voile fabrics, if anyone wants to recommend one.  Maybe then I’ll try this pattern out again.

You can find a whole host of spring tops made by like minded sewers on the spring top sew along flickr pool here.  Happy browsing!

5 thoughts on “A Spring Top for Me

  1. Hi, the top is so great. Love the contrast finish. What pattern did you use? I’ve been looking for something like that for ages. Ta in advance!

    • Hi Grace, thanks for the lovely comment. I’m afraid I didn’t use a pattern but simply folded an existing pattern in half and drew around it to make one. It has no darts so is super simple. When I make another one I could do a tutorial on this if it would help..

      • Thanks for getting back to me with my silly question. I re-read your post and realised it was self drafted. I’ll keep checking back for if/whenyou do a tute as I adore the sleeves.

    • Thanks Jenna, I love seeing the children in my homemade clothes, but I’m still getting used to seeing myself in them, so it’s lovely to get a comment like this.

I'd love to hear your comments...

