Geranium Tunic and Matching Shorts

imageWell KCW was sadly a bit of a disaster for me.  Despite plans for copious sewing and fantastical creations, I only managed to complete one item and start one other.  I can use illness as one excuse, but the other reason is because (as this along with some other recent events have made me realise) I just don’t like to sew because I have to.  They joy I get out of creating something for me, my children or friends seems to disappear if I feel I am making things out of duty or requirement.  I know that in some ways I am lucky that I can keep sewing as my hobby, but as soon as the weekend was over I was desperate to get back to the sewing machine and finish my second outfit.  Anyway, at least I completed it and despite Little Boo telling me she didn’t like foxes (I think it was more the idea of getting out of pyjamas that was the issue!) these clothes seemed to go down well.

I’m a BIG fan of the great Geranium Dress from Made By Rae and now have made three dresses from the pattern (deer dress, indigo stem dress, and cat dress).  This time I went for a tunic instead which has turned out to be a great idea as it is really practical for every day wear, especially when teamed up with some shorts!

image

These are a pair of Big Boo’s old jeans that had a huge hole in the knee (how most of his trousers end up). It was really easy to use some of the spare fabric to finish them off and turn this into a whole outfit.  I even made a really quick tutorial here if you want a go yourself!

I'd love to hear your comments...

