Hooray! My children eat courgette!

image

I’m off on a tangent today for this blog.  My usual content is either sewing or craft based, and I do have a couple of sewing projects ready to share except for the photos (including the salme playsuit!), but I’m waiting on some good weather combined with good timing to take some photos.  Whilst I tap my fingers I thought I’d share a meal with you, such a nice thing to do, share a meal with friends, don’t you think?

This meal has been a favourite with the family for a while now, and is something that everyone likes and is guaranteed to eat (don’t you just love it when that happens). My children will eat vegetables (Little Boo loves them) and do try new things, but Big Boo prefers his flavours unmixed (rice separate, pasta plain etc) and Little Boo loves finger food (i.e anything you can easily pick up – sausages, roast potatoes…). But this meal has them eating with a fork and wolfing down, great when you have visitors! Plus you can pep it up for the adults. I’m not sure where it came from, I think it stemmed from a meal I had at my brother’s in Sweden and developed from there. I know, I know, it isn’t anything amazing, theres no fancy ingredients or clever presentation, but it works, for my family at least, and maybe it will for yours too.

It really is simple, all you need is:

Pasta (dry or fresh, but I used dry as it is better for diets) – preferably one that the courgette can get into, like conchigle

2 courgettes (zucchini)

Parmesan – about 80g is fine for 4

Spring onions – about 3

Basil to decorate

Chilli flakes – to spice it up for the adults

image

It really is so simple, anyone can make this (even my husband!). Just cook the pasta according to instructions (mine takes 11 minutes on the hob). While it is cooking, spray you frying pan, or wok( sorry, I cook everything in my wok- I love it!) with cooking oil – you can use butter if you don’t mind calories. Finely chop the courgettes and spring onions in a blender and add to pan, stir over a medium heat for about 4 or 5 mins until they start to soften, but don’t get too mushy. Turn off heat and leave in pan.  Once cooked add the pasta to the courgettes and stir, then add the parmesan (saving some for little fingers to sprinkle on top at the table) and stir again.  Put in bowls, then add chilli flakes and basil to grown up food.  You can drizzle with balsamic vinegar rather than adding chilli if you don’t like the heat.

image

Present with some yummy garlic bread and parmesan to sprinkle.  Watch children shovel into mouths.

image

A happy mealtime makes a happy Mummy! Hope it works for you too.  If you have a fail safe kiddie favourite that works for grown ups too, I’d love to hear about it to add to my repertoire.  Happy eating….

I'd love to hear your comments...

