Blank Slate Dinosaur Coastal Cargo Shorts

Image

Finally, some clothing for my son! Why do clothes for girls always seem so much more fun to make? I think they are certainly easier anyway.  This was my first foray into welt pockets and a real life functional zip so I am mighty pleased that I have managed to produce a working pair of trousers.

Image

Big Boo was happy to put on his brand new mummy made shorts (I don’t think they will be worn rolled down much) for a couple of reasons:

1- They have black on them, his favourite colour.

2- They have….dinosaurs in the pocket!

Image

I’m one of those mean mums that doesn’t let many image adorned items of clothing into my children’s wardrobes, so this was a big deal.  It was made even better as the giganotosaurus (big dino) kept biting Daddy’s finger when he put it in the pocket….”Do it again Daddy!”

To be honest as I was making these I was almost cursing my decision to buy the pattern as I had to unpick and adjust the zip again, but I think this was my inexperience rather than problems with instructions. And when I finally finished, I was actually pretty chuffed with the results (even if the zip is a bit duff).  They have passed for shop bought, and passed the scoot test (seems to be becoming the norm clothes test for my children).

Image

The only major issues I have is… they only just fit! I made size 4 based on my slim Jim normally fitting this size, but I’m just thankful that Little Boo likes dinosaurs too, as I think these may be modelled by a girl near here in the not too distant future.

Image

“These dino pants make me want to ROAR!” (And sport funky 70’s hair!)

If you fancy making your own funky boy ‘Coastal Cargos’ find the pattern for sale here.

PS: sorry for blurry pictures, I promise to do better next time. 😦

4 thoughts on “Blank Slate Dinosaur Coastal Cargo Shorts

I'd love to hear your comments...

