Oliver and S Ice Cream tunic.

image
I took the plunge and finally bought this fabulous ice cream dress pattern from Oliver and S. I have been coveting it for a while, and finally succumbed after seeing Gail’s lovely new briar rose version (see it here)- I don’t think this lady ever creates something that is less than perfect. This time I think my version is pretty good too – having a great pattern to follow does help rather a lot!

image

If you haven’t tried any Oliver and S patterns yet, I really do recommend them, they are easy to follow with helpful hints and tips.  The only change I made was to use some elastic for the button loop rather than matching fabric. After my last creation for Big Boo (the cargo shorts on the previous post which I made in age 4 and he can only just squeeze into), I decided to err on the side of caution and made a size 4 for my big 2 1/2 year old. You can see there is plenty of room to feel the breeze and, when (not if!) I make my next,I may try a size 3. That said I think she can just about get away with this now, and she’s quite happy to put it on (always a bonus!).

image

No scooter test run yet, but this top sure is great for flying a kite, and we have had some perfect summery breezes for that recently – what a great way to spend the summer holidays!

image

And just to leave you with a final photo, I couldn’t resist this opportunity when we stopped off for some yummy Cornish whippy ice cream at the local shop today. Not the best photo ever but a perfect match for her ice cream tunic, don’t you think?

image

3 thoughts on “Oliver and S Ice Cream tunic.

  1. well I’m glad you took the ice cream dress pattern plunge, i have no qualms about taking responsibility for a wise decision such as that! 🙂 the fabric you chose is great and the top turned out beautifully…and i love the polka-dot button!

  2. Love, love, love this top! I just bought my first Oliver & S pattern – the Badminton Top & Skort – and I can’t wait to make it. Seriously, I cannot find a bad review of these patterns! So glad it worked out well for you!

I'd love to hear your comments...